Gothic - St Mary the Virgin, Hampton, Middlesex

Gothic - St Mary the Virgin, Hampton, Middlesex

After a late arrival home from work i did a quick circuit of possible local gothic piles. Walpole’s, St Mary’s College and The Teddington Landmark Art Centre proved difficult to get a good view. I headed on to the vaguely Gothic St Mary’s Church in Hampton and was delighted to get a seat in the graveyard, beneath the bell tower, in the dying light, with a blasted Chestnut tree zagging across the foreground of the church. I took a digital snap in case the light went altogether.

The subject

The subject

The more I worked on this the darker it got both in my picture and outside. At stages i was quite pleased then messed it up by trying to adjust tones. I completed most of the picture and decided i ought to leave as a hunched figure in the graveyard after dark might look too suspicious. In the end I felt i did the Gothic theme justice (spot the bat) but it was another of my overworked efforts. My centre lines on the building and perspective were also suspect.

